Quibi is the talk of the town and not in a good way. Between not having the greatest launch and comments from one of the head executives, things are not looking good. Tony and Dustin dive into how the service could be fixed and what is dragging the service down. There is also talk about a decision from Disney+ that makes it seem that they are starting to feel the pressure from the current production shutdowns and the future of the WarnerMedia streaming services once HBO Max launches.

News Rundown
Netflix:
Netflix strikes overall deal with Ricky Gervais: https://deadline.com/2020/05/after-life-netflix-ricky-gervais-deal-1202927689/
Netflix acquires post-apocalyptic thriller ‘Dark Days at the Magna Carta’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/blake-lively-netflix-dark-days-at-the-magna-carta-shawn-levy-producing-1202927914/
Swedish language limited series ‘Clark’ planned for Netflix: https://deadline.com/2020/05/bill-skarsgard-swedish-criminal-clark-olofsson-in-netflix-clark-1202931036/
More ‘Tiger King’ content could be coming: https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/more-tiger-king-coming-netflix-1294224
Netflix developing series based on ‘The Lying Life of Adults’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/netflix-series-elena-ferrante-the-lying-life-of-adults-1202932184/
The 1999 US Women’s Soccer team is the focus of a new film at Netflix: https://deadline.com/2020/05/netflix-film-1999-u-s-womens-soccer-world-cup-1202932045/

Prime Video:
Chris Pratt-led thriller drama ‘The Terminal List’ lands at Prime Video: https://deadline.com/2020/05/chris-pratt-series-the-terminal-list-amazon-thriller-drama-antoine-fuqua-david-digilio-1202925459/
Amazon developing ‘The Horror of Dolores Roach’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/amazon-the-horror-of-dolores-roach-blumhouse-dara-resnik-1202926764/
Amazon will bring ‘Little Fires Everywhere’ to international markets: https://deadline.com/2020/05/amazon-reese-witherspoon-kerry-washington-series-little-fires-everywhere-key-international-markets-1202928461/
Amazon puts animated comedy ‘Ricky & Cricket’ into development: https://deadline.com/2020/05/ricky-cricket-animated-comedy-mr-iglesias-team-amazon-1202929889/

Hulu:
Hulu acquires rights to ‘Scandal’ after long Netflix run: https://deadline.com/2020/05/scandal-hulu-after-netflix-all-7-seasons-shonda-rhimes-kerry-washington-1202928858/

CBS All Access:
CBS All Access subscribers jump 50%: https://www.cordcuttersnews.com/pluto-tv-now-has-25-million-active-users-cbs-all-access-showtime-subscribers-up-50/
ViacomCBS plans massive reboot for CBS All Access this summer: https://deadline.com/2020/05/cbs-all-access-to-get-summer-reboot-adding-paramount-films-and-shows-global-expansion-1202928536/

Apple TV+:
Apple signs Alena Smith to overall deal: https://deadline.com/2020/05/dickinson-creator-alena-smith-overall-deal-apple-1202927736/

Disney+:
Disney+ expansion dates announced for Japan, more of Europe and Latin America: https://thestreamable.com/news/disney-plus-to-launch-in-japan-and-eastern-europe-in-coming-months
Disney+ orders horror-comedy series ‘Just Beyond’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/just-beyond-disney-plus-series-based-on-boom-studios-comic-seth-grahame-smith-20th-tv-1202928715/
‘National Treasure’ series in development at Disney+: https://deadline.com/2020/05/national-treasure-tv-series-in-works-disney-1202929586/
Despite the pandemic, the second season of The Mandalorian should arrive as planned: https://www.theverge.com/2020/5/11/21254797/mandalorian-season-2-release-date-delay-pandemic-lucasfilm-disney-bob-chapek-marvel
‘Hamilton’ release moves up and lands in July on Disney+: https://deadline.com/2020/05/hamilton-movie-july-3-streming-release-disney-plus-75-million-lin-manuel-miranda-1202932220/

Quibi:
Arturo Castro sketch series heads to Quibi: https://deadline.com/2020/05/quibi-sets-arturo-castro-alternatino-comedy-central-1202932086/

HBO Max:
HBO Max lands Sundance Film Festival winner ‘Charm City Kings’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/sony-pictures-classics-charm-city-kings-sells-to-hbo-max-1202926812/
HBO Max will offer curated anime content from Crunchyroll at launch: https://www.theverge.com/2020/5/7/21250936/hbo-max-crunchyroll-anime-netflix-amazon-funimation-fullmetal-alchemist-death-note-kill-la-kill
HBO Max orders animated, holiday adult-themed comedy ‘Santa Inc.’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/hbo-max-sarah-silverman-seth-rogen-santa-inc-animated-comedy-1202929799/
HBO Max orders pilot for ‘Head of the Class’ reboot: https://deadline.com/2020/05/head-of-the-class-reboot-from-american-vandal-producers-scrubs-duo-bill-lawrence-pilot-order-hbo-max-1202932582/

Niche Streaming Services:
Future of DC Universe in doubt: https://thestreamable.com/news/future-of-streamer-dc-universe-in-limbo-as-hbo-max-prepares-to-launch

Main Discussion
The Quibi Debacle:
https://www.theverge.com/2020/5/11/21255084/quibi-jeffrey-katzenberg-streaming-tv-screenshot-sharing-social-media-subscribers-coronavirus
https://deadline.com/2020/05/quibi-ceo-meg-whitman-calls-launch-slightly-below-par-but-reopening-of-u-s-a-boost-we-havent-throttled-back-1202931891/

Trailers
The Right Stuff on Disney+ (Fall 2020): https://youtu.be/hxAk5LaMue4
Blackballed on Quibi (05/18/20): https://youtu.be/u2thAcrvmts
Patton Oswalt: I Love Everything on Netflix (05/19/20): https://youtu.be/NFNWNBWadrw
Regular Heroes on Prime Video (05/08/20): https://youtu.be/3ZTVwGo_oHY
Barkitecture on Quibi (05/11/20): https://youtu.be/96mETd0NIIE
Adventure Time: Distant Lands BMO on HBO Max (2020): https://youtu.be/7J9V7JxxA-k
The Baby-Sitters Club on Netflix (07/03/20): https://youtu.be/6G9BoFUqMrs
Selling Sunset S2 on Netflix (05/22/20): https://youtu.be/qlRsOWkzFgM
Solar Opposites on Hulu (05/08/20): https://youtu.be/sMDb4ewturw
Blood & Water S1 on Netflix (05/20/20): https://youtu.be/OV9Ma4F_xyA
Control Z on Netflix (05/22/20): https://youtu.be/P9rEPJ65UIw
Ben Platt Live from Radio City Music Hall on Netflix (05/20/20): https://youtu.be/joe2vkRdBjw
13 Reasons Why S4 on Netflix (06/05/20): https://youtu.be/340hErriHlg
I’m No Longer Here on Netflix (05/27/20): https://youtu.be/ieeZ0mviFKc
The Twilight Zone S2 on CBS All Access (06/25/20): https://youtu.be/Hs1W2kVnZNA
Hannah Gadsby: Douglas on Netflix (05/26/20): https://youtu.be/ziIwxPCeByU
The Woods on Netflix (06/12/20): https://youtu.be/4RlU1A_AJx4
Fuller House S5 Part 2 on Netflix (06/02/20): https://youtu.be/PG1gU7fjBUk

You can help to support this show through Patreon. Thanks for your support.
You can find us in a variety of different ways.
Follow The Streaming Wars on Twitter @StreamingWar
Follow Tony on Twitter @HammackTony
Follow Dustin on Twitter @BeardedBatChief
Email us at TheStreamingWars@gmail.com
Be sure to subscribe to the show for all of the latest episodes.

Subscribe to The Streaming Wars