Lots of news from the past week when it comes to the services and a lot of topics to discuss. Between Hulu putting their international rollout on hold, Apple looking for older library content, and the head exec behind Disney+ leaving the company, there is a lot to unpack. Join Tony and Dustin as they break all of that and more down from the world of streaming.

News Rundown
Netflix:
Netflix gives series order to ‘Sweet Tooth’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/sweet-tooth-netflix-team-downey-dc-comics-james-brolin-1202932691/
Netflix teams with Sky for True Crime series set in Texas: https://deadline.com/2020/05/netflix-sky-texas-true-crime-doc-series-znak-1202932870/
Netflix purchases global rights to Polish Tribeca winner ‘The Hater’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/netflix-buys-tribeca-winner-the-hater-1202934380/
Netflix teams with Reese Witherspoon for two romcoms: https://deadline.com/2020/05/reese-witherspoon-two-netflix-romantic-comedies-hello-sunshine-the-cactus-aggregate-films-aline-brosh-mckenna-the-cactus-1202932978/
Netflix bets on Mark Wahlberg with latest seven-figure film deal: https://deadline.com/2020/05/mark-wahlberg-marc-guggenheim-netflix-our-man-from-jersey-seven-figure-deal-1202934559/
Superhero project ‘Ball and Chain’ lands at Netflix: https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/netflix-lands-superhero-package-ball-chain-starring-dwayne-johnson-emily-blunt-1294641
Netflix aims to adapt ‘Stay Close’ from Harlan Coben: https://deadline.com/2020/05/stay-close-harlan-coben-netflix-red-1202938083/

Prime Video:
Amazon grabs UK rights to ‘Alex Rider’ spy franchise: https://deadline.com/2020/05/alex-rider-amazon-snags-uk-rights-to-anthony-horowitz-spy-franchise-1202933321/
Doc focusing on Spain’s “golden generation” of football players coming to Prime Video: https://deadline.com/2020/05/living-abroad-amazon-documentary-follows-spanish-footballers-1202938121/

Hulu:
Hulu’s international rollout is on hold: https://whatsondisneyplus.com/no-immediate-plans-for-a-hulu-international-roll-out/
Documentary ‘And We Go Green’ heading to Hulu: https://deadline.com/2020/05/leonardo-dicaprio-documentary-and-we-go-green-hulu-1202938329/

CBS All Access:
CBS All Access orders ‘Star Trek: Strange New Worlds’ to series: https://deadline.com/2020/05/star-trek-strange-new-worlds-tv-series-spock-captain-pike-ethan-peck-anson-mount-rebecca-romijn-akiva-goldsman-cbs-all-access-1202935510/

Apple TV+:
Sofia Coppola developing adaption of ‘The Custom of the Country’ for Apple: https://deadline.com/2020/05/apple-sofia-coppola-edith-whartons-novel-the-custom-of-the-country-1202932700/
Apple lands first-look deal with Scott Free Productions: https://deadline.com/2020/05/ridley-scott-scott-free-productions-first-look-television-deal-apple-1202933644/
Apple announces ‘Mythic Quest: Quarantine’ filmed with iPhones: https://deadline.com/video/mythic-quest-ravens-banquet-apple-comedy-return-quarantine-episode/
Apple lands next docuseries from creators of ‘McMillions’: https://deadline.com/2020/05/mcmillions-directors-apple-seven-figure-deal-docuseries-government-fraud-scandal-brian-lazarte-james-lee-hernandez-1202937459/
Apple is now entering the market for older content: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-05-19/apple-buys-older-shows-for-tv-stepping-up-netflix-challenge

Disney+:
Disney+ acquires ‘Clouds’ feature film: https://deadline.com/2020/05/clouds-zach-sobiech-disney-movie-premiere-five-feet-apart-1202934747/
‘Percy Jackson’ series in development for Disney+: https://deadline.com/2020/05/percy-jackson-series-in-the-works-at-disney-1202934985/
Disney+ head exec leaves the company for TikTok: https://www.theverge.com/2020/5/18/21262872/disney-plus-streaming-kevin-mayer-tiktok-ceo-bytedance-coo

Quibi:
Quibi adds Houston Astros cheating scandal docuseries to slate: https://deadline.com/2020/05/retrofit-instagram-lgbtq-hidden-canyons-quibi-houston-astros-sign-language-1202934800/

HBO Max:
HBO Max reveals their second wave of original content: https://deadline.com/2020/05/hbo-max-premiere-dates-doom-patrol-amy-schumer-seth-rogen-1202933369/
Stephen King and Joe Hill’s ‘Throttle’ in development at HBO Max: https://deadline.com/2020/05/hbo-max-antlers-producers-feature-stephen-king-and-joe-hill-throttle-1202933785/
HBO Max acquires US streaming rights for ‘The Dog House’: https://variety.com/2020/tv/news/hbo-max-channel-4-dog-house-1234604361/
HBO Max acquires YA novel ‘Camp’ for a feature film: https://deadline.com/2020/05/hbo-max-camp-movie-kit-williamson-lev-rosen-dan-jinks-producing-eastsiders-1202937215/

Peacock:
Peacock announces their original content slate for national launch: https://deadline.com/2020/05/peacock-opening-slate-july-launch-brave-new-world-1202934466/

Trailers
Centerpiece on Quibi (05/18/20): https://youtu.be/ZgTlzB9hq-E
Jeffrey Epstein: Filthy Rich on Netflix (05/27/20): https://youtu.be/-j0rjlfmDx4
Regular Heroes E2 on Prime Video (05/15/20): https://youtu.be/J2Zkx21AqSU
White Lines on Netflix (05/15/20): https://youtu.be/JIi8sV2uHko
Somebody Feed Phil S3 on Netflix (05/29/20): https://youtu.be/NUw3khVTVLo
Blood & Water S1 on Netflix (05/20/20): https://youtu.be/2m0Cm2kMOBU
The Big Fib on Disney+ (05/22/20): https://youtu.be/9pzkuPzOFSo
The Umbrella Academy S2 on Netflix (07/31/20): https://youtu.be/jsigH18Brs0
Mythic Quest: Raven’s Banquet-Quarantine on Apple TV+ (05/22/20): https://youtu.be/i7GqnRzF01s
Stargirl on DC Universe (05/18/20): https://youtu.be/IzubrwDLOuM
Da 5 Bloods on Netflix (06/12/20): https://youtu.be/D5RDTPfsLAI
Gina Brillon: The Floor is Lava on Prime Video (06/05/20): https://youtu.be/9p9YR-xaQh0
Legendary on HBO Max (05/27/20): https://youtu.be/UYepGZuRLhA
Space Force on Netflix (05/29/20): https://youtu.be/l4mY2asIjWk
Sweet Magnolias on Netflix (05/19/20): https://youtu.be/TEgrH93KLgY
The Last Days of American Crime on Netflix (06/05/20): https://youtu.be/gdWxGwiuhnU

You can help to support this show through Patreon. Thanks for your support.
You can find us in a variety of different ways.
Follow The Streaming Wars on Twitter @StreamingWar
Follow Tony on Twitter @HammackTony
Follow Dustin on Twitter @BeardedBatChief
Email us at TheStreamingWars@gmail.com
Be sure to subscribe to the show for all of the latest episodes.

Subscribe to The Streaming Wars