After a week of mulling over the topic of films demanding too large of price tags, Tony and Dustin head back to the topic to discuss whether or not the idea of overspending can be a positive outcome for streaming services. The focus is mostly on Apple as it seems that they are spending to stay ahead, but is it a strategy that can last? Find out and learn all the news from the past week on the latest episode of The Streaming Wars.

News Rundown
Netflix:
Netflix adjusts previous decision as ‘The Crown’ will in fact have six seasons: https://deadline.com/2020/07/the-crown-season-six-peter-morgan-1202981397/
‘Emily in Paris’ moves from Paramount Network to Netflix: https://deadline.com/2020/07/emily-in-paris-picked-up-netflix-darren-star-comedy-series-lily-collins-star-moves-from-paramount-network-1202983850/

Prime Video:
Prime Video launches user profiles worldwide: https://www.engadget.com/amazon-prime-video-user-profiles-155422280.html
‘Jungle Prince of Delhi’ series in development at Prime Video: https://deadline.com/2020/07/jungle-prince-of-delhi-new-york-times-feature-in-development-at-amazon-mira-nair-sister-krasnoff-foster-1202981232/

Hulu:
Hulu sets new monthly docuseries ‘The New York Times Presents’: https://deadline.com/2020/07/the-new-york-times-presents-monthly-docuseries-the-weekly-successor-season-2-fx-hulu-1202979837/

CBS All Access:
UEFA Champions Leagues will be on CBS All Access: https://deadline.com/2020/07/uefa-champions-league-livestreamed-cbs-all-access-deal-1202981171/

Apple TV+:
Graphic novel adaptation of ‘Snow Blind’ lands at Apple: https://deadline.com/2020/07/jake-gyllenhaal-snow-blind-apple-studios-gustav-moller-directs-graphic-novel-adaptation-1202982809/
Idris Elba inks first-look deal with Apple: https://deadline.com/2020/07/idris-elba-first-look-deal-apple-1202983785/

Disney+:
‘Clone Wars’ spinoff ‘The Bad Batch’ heads to Disney+ in 2021: https://deadline.com/2020/07/star-wars-the-bad-batch-new-animated-series-ordered-by-disney-1202984190/

Quibi:
‘The Long Distance Relationship Project’ moves forward at Quibi: https://deadline.com/2020/07/quibi-the-long-distance-relationship-project-guy-nattiv-jaime-ray-newman-stampede-ventures-1202979010/
Quibi may have lost 90% of their subscribers after the free trial period ended: https://www.theverge.com/2020/7/8/21318060/quibi-subscriber-count-free-trial-paying-users-conversion-rate
Series based on horror manga series ‘Tomie’ moves forward at Quibi: https://deadline.com/2020/07/quibi-tomie-based-horror-manga-series-adeline-rudolph-1202979897/
Quibi developing a documentary about the history of reality television: https://deadline.com/2020/07/quibi-documentary-history-of-reality-television-1202982393/
Quibi wins turnstyle technology lawsuit: https://deadline.com/2020/07/quibi-wins-eko-motion-turnstyle-technology-1202984830/

HBO Max:
HBO Max picks up animated series ‘Young Love’: https://deadline.com/2020/07/hbo-max-animated-series-young-love-hair-love-matthew-a-cherry-1202979431/
Crime drama ‘Rip Crew’ in development at HBO Max: https://deadline.com/2020/07/crime-drama-rip-crew-from-mike-weiss-michael-seitzman-in-works-at-hbo-max-1202979411/
Former Hulu exec named to lead HBO Max’s international expansion: https://deadline.com/2020/07/warner-hires-johannes-larcher-hbo-max-international-1202980204/
‘Class Action Park’ documentary lands at HBO Max: https://ew.com/movies/hbo-max-class-action-park-documentary/
Animated series ‘Chinos’ heads to HBO Max with pilot order: https://deadline.com/2020/07/eddie-huang-hbo-max-animated-series-chinos-put-pilot-deal-fresh-off-the-boat-creator-1202981426/
Companion series to the upcoming Batman film coming to HBO Max: https://deadline.com/2020/07/the-batman-companion-tv-series-matt-reeves-terence-winter-hbo-max-multiplatform-universe-gotham-police-department-1202982390/
‘Ravi Patel’s Pursuit of Happiness’ moves from CNN to HBO Max: https://deadline.com/2020/07/cnn-original-series-ravi-patels-pursuit-of-happiness-moves-hbo-max-premiere-date-1202984154/

Peacock:
Peacock will stream Premier League matches next season: https://www.engadget.com/peacock-premier-league-matches-streaming-nbc-sports-gold-160054895.html
New originals from Dick Wolf may be heading to Peacock: https://deadline.com/2020/07/peacock-dick-wolf-law-order-hate-crimes-new-york-undercover-1202982555/
With the launch of Peacock, ‘Today’ programming to increase: https://deadline.com/2020/07/today-streaming-nbc-peacock-1202984374/

Main Discussion
The success of ‘Hamilton’ still doesn’t compare to a successful theatrical run: https://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2020/07/06/hamilton-disney-plus-subscriptions-cant-compete-with-a-global-theatrical-release-for-soul-mulan-black-widow/#8194ece25915
What is the success rate of films going straight to streaming services: https://entertainmentstrategyguy.com/2020/07/07/should-you-release-your-movie-straight-to-netflix-part-ii-the-streaming-nee-netflix-counter-arguments/

Trailers
Away on Netflix (09/04/20): https://youtu.be/52y_1eC0UgQ
The Claudia Kishi Club on Netflix (07/10/20): https://youtu.be/Qfu7pEAtvHw
Umayon on Crunchyroll (07/07/20): https://youtu.be/Du8bFMrWYoE
Jim Gaffigan: The Pale Tourist on Prime Video (07/24/20): https://youtu.be/FFC_sAyLHKQ
Love on the Spectrum on Netflix (07/22/20): https://youtu.be/kX-QbcXyZug
The One and Only Ivan on Disney+ (08/14/20): https://youtu.be/I-uIQDRS4a8
The Umbrella Academy S2 on Netflix (07/31/20): https://youtu.be/Me0eoCwLj-A
Pen15 S2 on Hulu (09/18/20): https://youtu.be/zbtg-BoTQSY
The Boys S2 on Prime Video (09/04/20): https://youtu.be/cVHwlqyMyhM
David Makes Man on HBO Max (07/16/20): https://youtu.be/hlSxiGab7uo
Rogue Trip on Disney+ (07/24/20): https://youtu.be/gQ45Gss7ZHU
The Larva Island Movie on Netflix (07/23/20): https://youtu.be/BlNyQk2W83k
Jack Whitehall: I’m Only Joking on Netflix (07/21/20): https://youtu.be/kxJR6AptQ_E
Ashley Garcia: GEnius in Love P2 on Netflix (07/20/20): https://youtu.be/brHV281HyTI
Woke on Hulu (09/09/20): https://youtu.be/WeV8GCRs__E
Indian Matchmaking on Netflix (07/16/20): https://youtu.be/aZS2KbLAy5Y
Tig N’ Seek on HBO Max (07/23/20): https://youtu.be/Qt0dw2-39Us
Lake of Death on Shudder (07/16/20): https://youtu.be/Ox2JVAu6uaA
Radioactive on Prime Video (07/24/20): https://youtu.be/mU0oOUTo5zo
Random Acts of Violence on Shudder (08/20/20): https://youtu.be/aYYMR9nRouQ
Star Trek: Lower Decks on CBS All Access (08/06/20): https://youtu.be/V3RkBKedKWw
Lucifer S5 on Netflix (08/21/20): https://youtu.be/3mTh2joPPj8
Fear City: New York vs The Mafia on Netflix (07/22/20): https://youtu.be/d1sv1wETAII

You can help to support this show through Patreon. Thanks for your support.
You can find us in a variety of different ways.
Follow The Streaming Wars on Twitter @StreamingWar
Follow Tony on Twitter @HammackTony
Follow Dustin on Twitter @BeardedBatChief
Email us at TheStreamingWars@gmail.com
Be sure to subscribe to the show for all of the latest episodes.

Subscribe to The Streaming Wars