036: Studio Ghibli and Netflix Plus Peacock’s Content

NBCUniversal has revealed their service and with that comes some new content. Outside of that, there were a few more announcements out of the Television Critics Association and a major international deal between Netflix and Studio Ghibli. Check out the latest episode as Tony and Dustin discuss the latest content news from your favorite streaming services.

Netflix:
Bill Prady inks first-look deal with Netflix: https://deadline.com/2020/01/big-bang-co-creator-bill-prady-first-look-deal-with-netflix-1202832254/
Netflix obtains international streaming rights for Studio Ghibli library: https://deadline.com/2020/01/netflix-adding-studio-ghibli-animated-features-1202835389/
Netflix picks up Bradley Cooper’s Leonard Bernstein biopic: https://deadline.com/2020/01/netflix-leonard-bernstein-movie-bradley-cooper-martin-scorsese-steven-spielberg-todd-phillips-1202836240/
Netflix announces Witcher anime film: https://deadline.com/2020/01/the-witcher-nightmare-of-the-wolf-anime-movie-netflix-1202838030/

Prime Video:
Amazon passes on ‘Good People’: https://deadline.com/2020/01/good-people-dead-metoo-themed-college-comedy-pilot-whitney-cummings-lee-daniels-not-going-forward-amazon-1202836501/
Alex Cross series in development at Amazon: https://deadline.com/2020/01/alex-cross-tv-series-in-works-amazon-james-patterson-novels-1202838332/

Apple TV+:
‘The Banker’ gets a new release date in March: https://variety.com/2020/film/news/the-banker-release-apple-1203469575/
Julia Louis-Dreyfus signs overall deal with Apple: https://deadline.com/2020/01/julia-louis-dreyfus-overall-deal-apple-1202833705/
‘Dear…’ docuseries greenlit for Apple TV+: https://deadline.com/2020/01/apple-greenlights-dear-docuseries-rj-cutler-oprah-winfrey-1202834216/

Disney+:
Justin Long hosts new reality series ‘Shop Class” on Disney+: https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/justin-long-host-disney-competition-shop-class-1271435

HBO Max:
Cooking competition series ‘Fantasy Food Fight’ ordered at HBO Max: https://deadline.com/2020/01/hbo-max-cooking-competition-pilot-fantasy-food-fight-1202834328/
Animated comedy series ‘The Prince’ heading to HBO Max: https://deadline.com/2020/01/the-prince-british-royals-satire-animated-comedy-series-hbo-max-gary-janetti-1202836962/

Other Services:
‘Fierce Queens’ coming from Reese Witherspoon for Quibi: https://deadline.com/2020/01/reese-witherspoon-fierce-queens-quibi-1202832121/
Peacock lands Dick Wolf’s NBC library of shows: https://deadline.com/2020/01/peacock-dick-wolf-library-law-order-and-chicago-franchises-non-exclusive-deal-1202832638/
Kevin Hart sets new deal with Peacock for his Laugh Out Loud Network: https://deadline.com/2020/01/kevin-hart-multi-year-deal-peacock-laugh-out-loud-network-1202832726/
Tina Fey producing new series for Peacock: https://deadline.com/2020/01/tina-fey-produce-girls5eva-girl-group-original-series-nbcus-peacock-1202833046/
Hulu orders new comedy series featuring Steve Martin and Martin Short: https://deadline.com/2020/01/steve-martin-martin-short-comedy-series-dan-fogelman-hulu-1202833557/
‘Immoral Compass’ from Bill Burr coming to Quibi: https://deadline.com/2020/01/bill-burr-immoral-compass-series-quibi-1202833482/
Hulu sets upcoming premiere dates: https://deadline.com/2020/01/hulu-premiere-dates-the-great-ramy-solar-opposites-1202833786/
Three new children’s series ordered at Hulu: https://deadline.com/2020/01/hulu-orders-kids-series-madagascar-a-little-wild-trollstopia-the-mighty-ones-tca-1202833552/
‘Just One Drink’ starring Laura Dern coming to Quibi: https://deadline.com/2020/01/laura-dern-set-to-have-just-one-drink-in-new-quibi-series-1202836394/
Anthology comedy series ‘Florida Man’ ordered by Quibi: https://deadline.com/2020/01/quibi-orders-florida-man-anthology-comedy-series-blue-mountain-state-writers-1202837352/

Trailers
Lost Girls on Netflix (03/13/20): https://youtu.be/UJzGE00wncU
Diary of a Future President on Disney+ (01/17/20): https://youtu.be/xa5-32KLFRE
Hilary on Hulu (03/06/20): https://youtu.be/ViAAwc0BtiE
Normal People on Hulu (??/??/20): https://youtu.be/fsKmjOuPq9A
Little Fires Everywhere on Hulu (03/18/20): https://youtu.be/zJc3yTOpNDA
High Fidelity on Hulu (02/14/20): https://youtu.be/r5bkbfdVzbI
The Great on Hulu (05/15/20): https://youtu.be/TU5qkuZijA4
Visible: Out on Television on Apple TV+ (02/14/20): https://youtu.be/VegfPqIdM0A
Spenser Confidential on Netflix (03/06/20): https://youtu.be/bgKEoHNi3Uc
Horse Girl on Netflix (02/07/20): https://youtu.be/ieqemSsMxek
Gentefied on Netflix (02/21/20): https://youtu.be/1mFgMyqHZCE
Pokemon: Mewtwo Strikes Back-Evolution on Netflix (02/27/20): https://youtu.be/D0zYJ1RQ-fs
Star Wars: The Clone Wars S7 on Disney+ (02/21/20): https://youtu.be/ZLW2jkd6E7g
The Pharmacist on Netflix (02/05/20): https://youtu.be/aiHZ_wU4ktQ
Tom Papa: You’re Doing Great on Netflix (02/04/20): https://youtu.be/EB-L3ffRa5I
Miss Americana on Netflix (01/31/20): https://youtu.be/40RsbcFRwNA
To All the Boys: PS I Love You on Netflix (02/12/20): https://youtu.be/LIU4xb61PHc
The Last Thing He Wanted on Netflix (02/21/20): https://youtu.be/KmrU6gMc1Lc

New Releases
For all of this week’s new releases, head over to our Streaming Services Content Release Schedule found at http://thestreamingwars.io/streaming/

You can help to support this show through Patreon. Thanks for your support.
You can find us in a variety of different ways.
Follow The Streaming Wars on Twitter @StreamingWar
Follow Tony on Twitter @HammackTony
Follow Dustin on Twitter @BeardedBatChief
Email us at TheStreamingWars@gmail.com
Be sure to subscribe to the show for all of the latest episodes.

Subscribe to The Streaming Wars